PSAI Logo Image: Political Studies Association of Ireland
IPS Journal
About PSAI
PSAI Fellowship
Basil Chubb Prize
Brian Farrell Book Prize
Teaching Award
Specialist Groups


Welcome to the PSAI

The Political Studies Association of Ireland promotes the study of politics both in and of Ireland.

PSAI 2016 Annual Conference

The annual conference of the PSAI will take place in the Europa Hotel, Belfast, over the weekend of 7th-9th October 2016. Paper and panel proposals from all areas of the discipline are invited, with particular emphasis on but not necessarily confined to the politics of the island of Ireland. Please see the call for papers here.

Further details are available at

PSAI Postgraduate Biennial Conference

The biennial Postgraduate Conference will take place at Queen's University Belfast on 13th and 14th May 2016. The theme of the conference is "Irish Politics 1916-2016: 100 Years of Continuity and Change". Further details are available at

PSAI prizes awarded

  • 2015 Brian Farrell Book Prize:
    Awarded jointly to Alexander Baturo for: Democracy, Dictatorship, and Term Limits (2014, New Comparative Politics Series, The University of Michigan Press) and Jonathan Tonge, Maire Braniff, Thomas Hennessey, James W. McAuley, and Sophie Whiting for: The Democratic Unionist Party: From Protest to Power (2014, Oxford University Press).
  • 2015 Basil Chubb PhD Prize:
    Awarded to Dr. Jennifer Carroll MacNeill of University College Dublin for: Institutional Change in Judicial Selection Systems: Ireland in Comparative Perspective.
  • 2015 PSAI Teaching and Learning Award:
    Awarded to Dr. Mary P. Murphy of Maynooth University.
  • 2015 PSAI Best Conference Paper:
    Awarded to Jane Suiter of Dublin City University for her paper "Political Participation and Twitter".

We hope you find this website a useful resource. Using the categories on the left hand side of this page, you can access information about:

We're always happy to hear from members and non-members alike. You may contact us at

Alternatively you may contact any of the office holders:

Prof. David Farrell, University College Dublin - Email:

Dr. Theresa Reidy, University College Cork - Email:

Prof. John O'Brennan, Maynooth University - Email:

Dr. Jane Suiter, Dublin City University - Email:

Postal enquires:
PSAI President, c/o School of Politics & International Relations, University College Dublin, Newman Building, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.